Revisiting

At this point of my research process, I mainly focus on the final revision of my research paper. This week I spent most of my time to share my research paper to my friends and roommates. The audience I set for my topic is general college students or instructors, so I want to know whether my paper is engaging to my audience or not. Most of my friends said it is fine, and they found it understandable, but one of my roommate suggest me to more clear define autism in the first place, then brings it into the media. The reason he wants me to do that because he confused the definition of autism from film as the real definition. So I address more clearly on the first paragraph of the body. Then I start to revise that did my research essay reach my purpose of this research. The main purpose is to convince people to pay attention to stereotype of autism, and to improve autistic people’s living environment. So during the process of the revision, I look for the reasons. By showing the differences between the British girl, Julia, and Indian boy, Tito, I show the consequences of people’s ignorant toward autism stereotype. In addition, I also used the the consequences of difficulty diagnosing autism to support that the myth of autism is preventing autistic people from getting treatments. That causes most of the autistic people or family members to worry. I used these serious outcomes of the stereotypes of autism to bring my audience’s consciousness   back. So I think I did achieve the goal to engage my audience to care about autism. The another reason I share my paper with others is my lousiness in language. I am not good at using rhetoric in my paper, so I want my friends help me to improve some of the words, grammar mistakes, or even sentence structures as long as my style is still in there.

Leave a Reply

